Below you will find important information on West Virginia state debt recovery laws including: West Virginia Statutes, Judgments, Garnishments, Interest Rates, and Bad Check Laws.
STATE: WEST VIRGINIA
- Legal: 6% (contract rate prevails, and can vary between 18% and 31% max)
- Judgment: 9.75% (changes each year based on a certain Federal rate)
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
- Open Account: 5
- Written Contract: 10
- Domestic Judgment: 10
- Foreign Judgment: 10
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Amount due, service charge up to $10. If check is less than > $500.00 = misdemeanor. If check is greater than $500.00 = felony.
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See West VA code 38-5A-3-Employees withhold 20% of disposable income or 30 x the min. hourly rate, whichever is less. Other exemptions apply.