Below you will find important information on Utah state debt recovery laws including: Utah Statutes, Judgments, Garnishments, Interest Rates, and Bad Check Laws.
- Legal: 10%
- Judgment: 6.99%
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
- Open Account: 4
- Written Contract: 6
- Domestic Judgment: 8
- Foreign Judgment: 8
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Certified statutory bad check notice must be set. Amount due, interest, court costs, reasonable attorney fees, plus damage equal to greater of $100 or 3x check amount (not to exceed check amount plus $500).
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
$142.50 of disposable earnings for wages paid weekly.