West Virginia Debt Collection Laws and Statutes

Below you will find important information on West Virginia state debt recovery laws including: West Virginia Statutes, Judgments, Garnishments, Interest Rates, and Bad Check Laws.

STATE: WEST VIRGINIA

Interest Rate

  • Legal: 6% (contract rate prevails, and can vary between 18% and 31% max)
  • Judgment: 9.75% (changes each year based on a certain Federal rate)

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)

  • Open Account: 5
  • Written Contract: 10
  • Domestic Judgment: 10
  • Foreign Judgment: 10

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)

Amount due, service charge up to $10. If check is less than > $500.00 = misdemeanor. If check is greater than $500.00 = felony.

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS

See West VA code 38-5A-3-Employees withhold 20% of disposable income or 30 x the min. hourly rate, whichever is less. Other exemptions apply.

To get started today, call our toll free 1-877-680-6064 to speak with an associate or fill out the form below and we will contact you within 24 hours.

Request a FREE Quote

Fill out the form below to request a free quote.
Company: Daytime Phone:
Your Name Evening Phone:
Address: Fax Number:
City: Email Address:
State:
Zip Code:

img

Collection Services
We have simplified the debt collection process for you.

img

Invoice Factoring
24 Hour Approval...Get Quotes Today!

img

Person and Asset Location
Real People Doing Real Searches Getting Real Results.