New Jersey Debt Collection Laws and Statutes

Below you will find important information on New Jersey state debt recovery laws including: New Jersey Statutes, Judgments, Garnishments, Interest Rates, and Bad Check Laws.

STATE: NEW JERSEY

Interest Rate

  • Legal: up to 30% - as provided for by contract
  • Judgment: Changes yearly. In 2007 - 4% on judgments up to %15,000. On judgments in excess of $15,000, an additional 2% is added to the interest rate.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)

  • Open Account: 6
  • Sale of Goods: 4
  • Written Contract: 6
  • Domestic Judgment: 20
  • Foreign Judgment: 20
  • Auto Deficiency: 4

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)

Face amount of the check plus 3x the face value of the check, with the civil penalty not to exceed $500.

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS

$154.50 week min. 10% of gross earnings $154.50 & over.

To get started today, call our toll free 1-877-680-6064 to speak with an associate or fill out the form below and we will contact you within 24 hours.

Request a FREE Quote

Fill out the form below to request a free quote.
Company: Daytime Phone:
Your Name Evening Phone:
Address: Fax Number:
City: Email Address:
State:
Zip Code:

img

Collection Services
We have simplified the debt collection process for you.

img

Invoice Factoring
24 Hour Approval...Get Quotes Today!

img

Person and Asset Location
Real People Doing Real Searches Getting Real Results.