Mississippi Debt Collection Laws and Statutes

Below you will find important information on Mississippi state debt recovery laws including: Mississippi Statutes, Judgments, Garnishments, Interest Rates, and Bad Check Laws.

STATE: MISSISSIPPI

Interest Rate

  • Legal: 8%
  • Judgment: amount is contract, if no contract amount - court decides.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)

  • Open Account: 3
  • Written Contract: 3
  • Sales (UCC) Contract: 6
  • Domestic Judgment: 7
  • Foreign Judgment: 7 (3 if resident)
  • Deficiency Suit: 1 year from date of sale

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)

On checks up to and including $25.00, additional damages would be 100% of check amount. On checks from $25.01 to $200.00, additional damages would be 50% of check amount but not less that $25.00. On checks over $200.00, additional damages would be 25% of check amount.

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS

See federal law. State Law: 30 days wages after service of process.

To get started today, call our toll free 1-877-680-6064 to speak with an associate or fill out the form below and we will contact you within 24 hours.

Request a FREE Quote

Fill out the form below to request a free quote.
Company: Daytime Phone:
Your Name Evening Phone:
Address: Fax Number:
City: Email Address:
State:
Zip Code:

img

Collection Services
We have simplified the debt collection process for you.

img

Invoice Factoring
24 Hour Approval...Get Quotes Today!

img

Person and Asset Location
Real People Doing Real Searches Getting Real Results.