Connecticut Debt Collection Laws and Statutes

Below you will find important information on Connecticut state debt recovery laws including: Connecticut Statutes, Judgments, Garnishments, Interest Rates, and Bad Check Laws.

STATE: CONNECTICUT

Interest Rate

  • Legal: 8%
  • Judgment: 10% (Unless otherwise contracted)

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)

  • Open Account: 6
  • Written Contract: 6
  • Oral Contract: 3
  • Sale of Goods (UCC): 4
  • Domestic Judgment: 20/25
  • Small Claims (less than > $3500) Judgment: 10/15
  • Foreign Judgment: 20

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)

Personal liability of signatory on corporate claims unless signed in corporate capacity. Liability of drawer, if no account, damages equal to lesser of $750 or face amount of check. For insufficient of funds, lesser of $400 or face amount of check.

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS

25% you may garnish disposable earnings each week, or 40 x fed. min hourly wage, which ever is less.

To get started today, call our toll free 1-877-680-6064 to speak with an associate or fill out the form below and we will contact you within 24 hours.

Request a FREE Quote

Fill out the form below to request a free quote.
Company: Daytime Phone:
Your Name Evening Phone:
Address: Fax Number:
City: Email Address:
State:
Zip Code:

img

Collection Services
We have simplified the debt collection process for you.

img

Invoice Factoring
24 Hour Approval...Get Quotes Today!

img

Person and Asset Location
Real People Doing Real Searches Getting Real Results.